About the Author
Mass Effect
Final Fantasy X
Batman:Arkham City
Borderlands Series
Weekly Column
Champions Online
World of Warcraft
DM of the Rings
Good Robot
Project Frontier
Forums
"Music"



Mass Effect Retrospective 50: The Final Affrontier

By Shamus
on Thursday Jun 2, 2016
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 49: Star Child

By Shamus
on Thursday May 26, 2016
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 48: What Dreams May Dumb

By Shamus
on Thursday May 19, 2016
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 47: Space Magic Nonsense

By Shamus
on Thursday May 12, 2016
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 46: Kai Leng

By Shamus
on Thursday May 5, 2016
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 45: The Temple of Duh

By Shamus
on Thursday Apr 28, 2016
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 44: Boss Fight

By Shamus
on Thursday Apr 21, 2016
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 43: Interesting Stupid

By Shamus
on Thursday Apr 14, 2016
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 42: A Thoughtless Coup

By Shamus
on Thursday Apr 7, 2016
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 41: Cerberus Sucks

By Shamus
on Thursday Mar 31, 2016
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 40: TIM Island

By Shamus
on Thursday Mar 24, 2016
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 39: Cerberus Set Up Us The Bomb

By Shamus
on Thursday Mar 17, 2016
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 38: Cerberus Unlimited

By Shamus
on Thursday Mar 10, 2016
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 37: The Needs of the Menae

By Shamus
on Thursday Mar 3, 2016
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 36: Argument Clinic

By Shamus
on Thursday Feb 25, 2016
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 35: Mars Effect

By Shamus
on Thursday Feb 18, 2016
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 34: We Fight Then We Die

By Shamus
on Thursday Feb 11, 2016
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 33: Sentenced to Plot-Jail

By Shamus
on Thursday Feb 4, 2016
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 32: No Take-Backs

By Shamus
on Wednesday Jan 27, 2016
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 31: Choices Matter

By Shamus
on Thursday Jan 21, 2016
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 30: Suicide Mission

By Shamus
on Thursday Jan 14, 2016
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 29: Field Trip

By Shamus
on Thursday Jan 7, 2016
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 28: Actually, Go Ahead and Fear the Reaper

By Shamus
on Tuesday Dec 22, 2015
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 27: Everyone Has Read the Script

By Shamus
on Thursday Dec 17, 2015
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 26: THIS HURTS YOU

By Shamus
on Thursday Dec 10, 2015
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 25: Horizon

By Shamus
on Thursday Dec 3, 2015
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 24: Collectors Addition

By Shamus
on Thursday Nov 26, 2015
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 23: Assumed Empathy

By Shamus
on Thursday Nov 19, 2015
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 22: Under New Management

By Shamus
on Thursday Nov 12, 2015
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 21: Geth of Honor

By Shamus
on Thursday Nov 5, 2015
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 20: Now Hiring for Unknown Position

By Shamus
on Thursday Oct 29, 2015
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 19: The Importance of Peasants

By Shamus
on Thursday Oct 22, 2015
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 18: There’s No “You” in “Team”

By Shamus
on Thursday Oct 15, 2015
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 17: Commander Shootmans

By Shamus
on Thursday Oct 8, 2015
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 16: Re-entry

By Shamus
on Thursday Oct 1, 2015
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 15: Change Happens

By Shamus
on Thursday Sep 24, 2015
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 14: Lord of the Retcons

By Shamus
on Thursday Sep 17, 2015
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 13: Plan B From Outer Space

By Shamus
on Thursday Sep 10, 2015
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 12: A Chat With Vigil

By Shamus
on Thursday Sep 3, 2015
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 11: Ilos

By Shamus
on Thursday Aug 27, 2015
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 10: The Cull of Cthulhu

By Shamus
on Sunday Aug 23, 2015
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 9: Paragade

By Shamus
on Wednesday Aug 19, 2015
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 8: Racists! In! Spaaaaaaace!

By Shamus
on Thursday Aug 13, 2015
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 7: Queen of Zerglings

By Shamus
on Sunday Aug 9, 2015
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 6: Noveria

By Shamus
on Wednesday Aug 5, 2015
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 5: Feros

By Shamus
on Thursday Jul 30, 2015
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 4: Why is Therum Gone?

By Shamus
on Sunday Jul 26, 2015
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 3: Eden Prime

By Shamus
on Thursday Jul 23, 2015
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 2: Details versus Drama

By Shamus
on Sunday Jul 19, 2015
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Mass Effect Retrospective 1: The Ages of BioWare

By Shamus
on Wednesday Jul 15, 2015
Filed under:
Mass Effect




Dead Island

A stream-of-gameplay review of Dead Island. This game is a cavalcade of bugs and bad design choices.

 

Shamus Plays WOW

Ever wondered what's in all those quest boxes you've never bothered to read? Get ready: They're more insane than you might expect.

 

The No Politics Rule

Here are 6 reasons why I forbid political discussions on this site. #4 will amaze you. Or not.

 

Spoiler Warning:
KOTOR

Knights of the Old Republic. It's charming, odd, glitchy, and captures the feel of classic Star Wars better than 90% of the Star Wars games out there.

 

Mass Effect Retrospective

A novel-sized analysis of the Mass Effect series that explains where it all went wrong. Spoiler: It was long before the ending.

 

Project Frontier

A programming project where I set out to make a gigantic and complex world from simple data.

 

Spoiler Warning:
Marlow Briggs

This game is bonkers. It's wild, it's crazy, and it makes no sense. You have to see it to understand the silly.

 

Starcraft 2: Rush Analysis

I write a program to simulate different strategies in Starcraft 2, to see how they compare.

 

Spoiler Warning:
The Last of Us

A beautiful, masterful, heart-wrenching bit of cinema mixed with a completely rote and uninspired set of mechanics.

 

Zenimax vs. Facebook

This series explores the troubled history of VR and the strange lawsuit between Zenimax publishing and Facebook.

 

Object-Oriented Debate

There are two major schools of thought about how you should write software. Here's what they are and why people argue about it.

 

Steam Summer Blues

This mess of dross, confusion, and terrible UI design is the storefront the big publishers couldn't beat? Amazing.