About the Author
Mass Effect
Final Fantasy X
Batman:Arkham City
Borderlands Series
Weekly Column
Champions Online
World of Warcraft
DM of the Rings
Good Robot
Project Frontier
Forums
"Music"



Final Fantasy X Part 20: Finale Fantasy

By Shamus
on Thursday Nov 3, 2016
Filed under:
FFX




Final Fantasy X Part 19: Water You Trying to Say?

By Shamus
on Thursday Oct 27, 2016
Filed under:
FFX




Final Fantasy X Part 18: Breaking the Cycle

By Shamus
on Thursday Oct 20, 2016
Filed under:
FFX




Final Fantasy X Part 17: Some Kid Dreamed

By Shamus
on Thursday Oct 13, 2016
Filed under:
FFX




Final Fantasy X Part 16: Gotta Have Fayth

By Shamus
on Thursday Oct 6, 2016
Filed under:
FFX




Final Fantasy X Part 15: Monster Arena

By Shamus
on Thursday Sep 29, 2016
Filed under:
FFX




Final Fantasy X Part 14: Nuns and Guns

By Shamus
on Thursday Sep 22, 2016
Filed under:
FFX




Final Fantasy X Part 13: The Wedding Crashers

By Shamus
on Thursday Sep 15, 2016
Filed under:
FFX




Final Fantasy X Part 12: Bikanel Island

By Shamus
on Thursday Sep 8, 2016
Filed under:
FFX




Final Fantasy X Part 11: The Sphere Grid

By Shamus
on Thursday Sep 1, 2016
Filed under:
FFX




Final Fantasy X Part 10: Guadosalam

By Shamus
on Thursday Aug 18, 2016
Filed under:
FFX




Final Fantasy X Part 9: All Bad

By Shamus
on Thursday Aug 11, 2016
Filed under:
FFX




Final Fantasy X Part 8: Ain’t No Party Like a Summoner’s Party

By Shamus
on Thursday Aug 4, 2016
Filed under:
FFX




Final Fantasy X Part 7: Operation Mi’ihen

By Shamus
on Thursday Jul 21, 2016
Filed under:
FFX




Final Fantasy X Part 6: Meet the Maesters

By Shamus
on Thursday Jul 14, 2016
Filed under:
FFX




Final Fantasy X Part 5: Blitzball!

By Shamus
on Thursday Jul 7, 2016
Filed under:
FFX




Final Fantasy X Part 4: Death and Other Puzzles

By Shamus
on Thursday Jun 30, 2016
Filed under:
FFX




Final Fantasy X Part 3: Steam Summoner Sale

By Shamus
on Thursday Jun 23, 2016
Filed under:
FFX




Final Fantasy X Part 2: More Like… ZanarCAN’T

By Shamus
on Thursday Jun 16, 2016
Filed under:
FFX




Final Fantasy X Part 1: Favorite Fantasy

By Shamus
on Thursday Jun 9, 2016
Filed under:
FFX




Overused Words in Game Titles

I scoured the Steam database to figure out what words were the most commonly used in game titles.

 

Crysis 2

Crysis 2 has basically the same plot as Half-Life 2. So why is one a classic and the other simply obnoxious and tiresome?

 

Trekrospective

A look back at Star Trek, from the Original Series to the Abrams Reboot.

 

Joker's Last Laugh

Did you anticipate the big plot twist of Batman: Arkham City? Here's all the ways the game hid that secret from you while also rubbing your nose in it.

 

Free Radical

The product of fandom run unchecked, this novel began as a short story and grew into something of a cult hit.

 

Pixel City Dev Blog

An attempt to make a good looking cityscape with nothing but simple tricks and a few rectangles of light.

 

Video Compression Gone Wrong

How does image compression work, and why does it create those ugly spots all over some videos and not others?

 

D&D Campaign

WAY back in 2005, I wrote about a D&D campaign I was running. The campaign is still there, in the bottom-most strata of the archives.

 

Hardware Review

So what happens when a SOFTWARE engineer tries to review hardware? This. This happens.

 

Spoiler Warning:
BioShock

A confusing game that's really smart for a shooter, but kind of dumb compared to its RPG-focused forebears.

 

Why The Christmas Shopping Season is Worse Every Year

Everyone hates Black Friday sales. Even retailers! So why does it exist?

 

Borderlands Series

A look at the main Borderlands games. What works, what doesn't, and where the series can go from here.